University of North Texas, Denton, Texas

About Us


The University of North Texas (UNT) is a public research university in Denton, Texas. Eleven colleges, two schools, an early admissions math and science academy for exceptional high-school-age students from across the state, and a library system comprise the university core. Its research is driven by about 38 doctoral degree programs. North Texas was founded as a nonsectarian, coeducational, private teachers college in 1890 and was formally adopted by the state 11 years later.UNT is the flagship institution of the University of North Texas System, which includes additional universities in Dallas and Fort Worth. UNT also has a satellite campus in Frisco.

College of Education

The College of Education is regionally and nationally recognized for excellence in preparing teachers, administrators, counselors, kinesiology, and health promotion specialists, play therapists and other educators. It is one of Texas’ top producers of students taking the state teaching certification exam.

College of Engineering

The fast-growing College of Engineering offers degree programs designed to meet industry needs while increasing the scope and impact of its research. Its programs continue to pioneer green technologies and establish the college as a pacesetter in surface engineering.

G. Brint Ryan College of Business

The G. Brint Ryan College of Business is one of the largest business schools in the nation and contributes to the economic development of the region. Top-ranked programs include the nationally recognized logistics and supply chain management program and online M.B.A.